Error message

  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in taxonomy_field_views_data() (line 444 of /home/reimagi8/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy.views.inc).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in taxonomy_field_views_data() (line 444 of /home/reimagi8/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy.views.inc).

Demand Environmental Justice from the MTC

On March 22 at 10:10am the Environmental Justice Principles proposed by the Minority Citizens Advisory Committee (MCAC) of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) will go before the full MTC Commission for adoption. An alternative, weaker version of EJ Principles proposed by the MTCs General Counsel will also go before the Commission.

Please call the MTC’s Commissioners and urge them to adopt the MCAC’s Environmental Justice Principles as they are. Their contact information is below.

CHAIR:

Rubin, Jon San Francisco Mayor's Appointee San Francisco (650) 873-1200 jrubin@pencoalition.com

VICE CHAIR:

McClemore, John  Former City of Santa Clara Coun Santa Clara County Cities (408) 261-9431 jlmclemore@aol.com

COMMISSIONERS:

Ammiano, Tom San Francisco Board of Superviso SF City and County (415) 554-5144 tom_ammiano@ci.sf.ca.usrs

Anderson, Irma Mayor, City of Richmond Contra Costa County Cities (510) 620-6503 irma_anderson@ci.richmond.ca.us

Azumbrado, Tom Director for Project Managemen US Department of Housing & Urban Development (415) 489-6618 Thomas_W._Azumbrado@HUD.GOVt, HUD

Beall, James T; Jr. Santa Clara County Board of Sup Santa Clara County (408) 299-5040 james.beall@bos.co.santa-clara.ca.uservisors

Blanchard, Bob Vice-Mayor, City of Santa Rosa Sonoma County and Cities (707) 543-3010 bblanchard@ci.santa-rosa.ca.us

DeSaulnier, Mark Contra Costa County Board of Su Contra Costa County (925) 646-5763 dist4@supervisors.co.contra-costa.ca.uspervisors

Dodd, Bill Napa County Board of Supervisor Napa County (707) 259-8278 bdodd@co.napa.ca.uss Giacopini,

Dorene M. Joseph P. Bort MetroCenter, DO US Department of Transportation (510) 758-0553 dgiacopini@mtc.ca.govT

Haggerty, Scott Alameda County Board of Superv Alameda County (510) 272-6691 district1@co.alameda.ca.usisors

Halsted, Anne W. SF Bay Conservation & Develop SF Bay Conservation & Development Commissioahalsted@aol.comment Commissionn (415) 352-3600

Kinsey, Steve Marin County Board of Superviso Marin County (415) 499-7331 skinsey@co.marin.ca.usrs

Lempert, Sue Councilmember, City of San Mat San Mateo County Cities (650) 522-7522 x6268 lempert@cityofsanmateo.orgeo

Tissier, Adrienne Supervisor, San Mateo County San Mateo County (650) 363-4572 atissier@co.sanmateo.ca.us

Sartipi, Bijan Caltrans, District 4 Director State Business, Transportation & Housing Agenc (510) 286-5900 bijan_sartipi@dot.ca.govy

Spering, James P. Mayor, Suisun City Solano County and Cities (707) 421-7300 jimzspering@cs.com

Torliatt, Pamela Councilmember, City of Petalum Association of Bay Area Governments (707) 778-4345 ptorliatt@aol.coma

Young, Sheila Mayor, City of San Leandro Alameda County Cities (510) 577-3355 mayoryoung@ci.san-leandro.ca.us

Please contact Claudia Flores (claudia@urbanhabitat.org) or Lila Hussain (lila@urbanhabitat.org) if you plan to attend and if you have questions.

MARCH 22 10 A.M.

Joseph P. Bort MetroCenter
Auditorium
101 Eighth Street (across the street from Lake Merritt BART)
Oakland, California

Why you should call the Commissioners and come out in support of the principles!

On Friday, March 3 the MCAC’s EJ Principles went before the MTC’s Legislation Committee for adoption.  This constituted the fourth time that the MCAC’s EJ principles were submitted for consideration. The Committee moved to forward both the MCAC and the General Counsel’s language to the full commission without recommendation after failing to pass a motion to adopt the MCAC principles.

The MCAC has been working for the past year and a half on drafting their proposed set of EJ principles.  The MCAC adopted these principles late in 2004, and voted to submit them to the Commission for its consideration and approval more than a year ago.  At that time, however, the Commissioners refused, claiming that the principles wrongly implied that MTC’s distribution of funding was discriminatory.

In January of this year, due to concerns raised by the Congestion Management Agencies and the Bay Area Partnership, the MTC’s Legislation Committee decided to further postpone the adoption of the EJ principles and requested that the MCAC meet with the Bay Area Partnership “to determine if mutually acceptable language could be achieved.” This joint meeting was convened on February 3, 2006 where modified language was discussed, but no action was taken since neither the MCAC nor the Partnership had a quorum present at the meeting.

At its regular meeting on February 14 the MCAC decided to stand by its principles and voted to retain the original language because MCAC members believe that the language modification to Principles 3 and 4 would render them meaningless. Therefore, the MCAC requested that the Legislation Committee approve them at its March 3 meeting. As a result, the General Counsel was asked to comment on whether adoption of the EJ principles would increase liability risks for the MTC but all he did was to edit the principles and effectively weaken them without providing a legal analysis or rationale.

Let the MTC Commission hear your support on behalf of the MCAC’s EJ Principles and hope to see you at the March 22 meeting!